Blogging 101: Introduction

I haven’t yet decided if this will be a help or a hindrance. WordPress is offering this blogging course, and even though I’m not a novice, I do feel like I still have a lot to learn. With any luck, I’ll pick up some good tips and build a consistent blogging habit- something that has eluded me so far.

  • Why are you blogging publicly, rather than keeping a personal journal?

I do keep a personal journal, but it’s not on the internet. I started blogging several years ago to help support a book my husband and I wrote. It was mostly dating advice, and while I enjoyed it, it’s not really what I want to be doing long-term. This blog is mostly about my journey as I write a series of historical fantasy novels. I’m about halfway through the first one.

  • What topics do you think you’ll write about?

So far, I’ve been all over the place. I’ve done some writing about the writing process, highlighted some of the research I’ve done, reviewed books I’ve read, and profiled some of my main characters. Before all is said and done, I’d like to find a narrower focus. Maybe. I’m hoping this course might point me in the right direction.

  • Who would you love to connect with via your blog?

All kinds of people. I think I’m supposed to say that I’m looking for potential readers for my books, but I don’t like the idea of this being only a promotional place. I don’t like reading blogs like that, and I don’t like writing what I don’t want to read. So, while it would be lovely to connect with potential readers, I also love communicating with other writers of all sorts. I’d love to draw in more history and historical fantasy geeks so I can pick their brains and they can nitpick at mistakes I make in my writing. . I’ve found the WordPress writing community to be very supportive, and it’s great to connect with people who are in varying stages of the same journey I’m on. I love reading blogs on a variety of topics, so if this blog is simply a way to meet other bloggers, that makes me pretty happy, too.

  • If you blog successfully throughout the next year, what would you hope to have accomplished?

I will be in the habit of blogging multiple times a week, with a growing and varied readership. I’d like to find a clearer focus, or at least be more comfortable with the approach I’m currently taking. As a side effect, the blog will be part of my platform to help me promote at least one book that will be finished and published by then. I’d love to have a good-sized following that is interested and engaged.

5 thoughts on “Blogging 101: Introduction

  1. Feeling the same way, i love the idea of your blog not being only a place for promotion. It’s way nicer to read the thoughts of someone and getting to know his or her story better.
    Will you take part in NaNoWriMo this year again?

    1. I think I will do NaNoWriMo! I wanted to have my first book done by then, but it probably won’t happen. Still, it’s a good chance to get out a first draft of the second book, and by then I’ll need a break from editing. Are you going to do it?

Leave a Reply

